The Railfan Chronicles: GTW Railroad Book 1


Product Description

The Railfan Chronicles: Grand Trunk Western Railroad, Book 1, Detroit to Toledo Operations: 1975 to 1992 Including Detroit, Toledo and Ironton and Detroit & Toledo Shore Line Railroads

“The Railfan Chronicles is a series of books about different railroads during the period from 1975 to 2000. This was a period of great change in the railroad industry, with mergers of large railroads and creation of regional and short line railroads to operate unwanted lines of the Class One railroads. These books will cover railroads in this time period in photographs taken by the author. The first railroad being covered is Grand Trunk Western Railroad. This is Book 1 of our coverage of this unique Michigan railroad, looking at its operations between Detroit and Toledo during the years 1975 to 1992. Book 1 not only covers GTW in Detroit during this time frame but also the Detroit & Toledo Shore Line Railroad and the Detroit, Toledo & Ironton Railroad, as both were purchased by GTW and merged into it in the early 1980’s. Starting with a look at all three railroads when they were still independent, the book also covers their post merger operations between Detroit and Toledo until 1992 when GTW itself was absorbed by parent Canadian National Railways.”

Written by Byron Babbish

Series: The Railfan Chronicles
Paperback: 114 pages
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1499597460
ISBN-13: 978-1499597462